3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Dropping down in bow weight  (Read 183 times)

Offline gonetocamp

• Trad Bowhunter
Dropping down in bow weight
« on: December 28, 2011, 11:59:00 AM »
Hello to all. This is my first post but I have been reading info from this site for over a year. I come on here everyday for info and love it. So I decided to join up. I have been shooting traditional bows since 1980. The latest for the last 20 years was a Bighorn recurve. With shoulder problems the 60# bow has become a problem. I'm in the market for a new bow in the 45# range. I'm trying to decide between a Tall Tines recurve and a Schafer Silvertip recurve. I thought some could give me some insight into these two bows. Thanks for your help.

Offline snakebit40

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Dropping down in bow weight
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2011, 12:25:00 PM »
Welcome! I have two silvertips and love them both. The lowest weight silvertip that I've shot was 52@28 or 53@28, but it kept right up there with my 62@28. I really don't think you would be disappointed with either bow. Good luck and keep us posted on what you decide!    :campfire:
Jon Richards

Isaiah 6:8 Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?”
And I said, “Here am I. Send me!”.
>>>>------------>
Schafer Silvertip 71@28
Big River 60" 59@28

Offline Bjorn

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2011, 12:34:00 PM »
I dropped 10# down to 50# about 6 years ago never looked back.
Ether bow is a great choice.

Offline DannyBows

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2011, 02:30:00 PM »
Welcome to the 'Gang.    :campfire:    :archer2:    

I can't help with the bows though, I'm a longbow shooter.