3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Same bow 30 odd years  (Read 406 times)

Offline mickeys4

• Trad Bowhunter
Same bow 30 odd years
« on: January 02, 2012, 05:31:00 PM »
Has anyone been shooting the same bow for decades?I am still shooting the same bow I started shooting over 30 years ago.When I decided to try archery I wasn't impressed by those compound contraptions.I found an article in the back of an archery magazine about an archery shop in Georgia run by some guy named Dan Quillian.Dan sold me a Bamboo Longhunter 65#@28 complete with a VHS video with everything I needed to know about shooting the Longbow.This was back in the day before girlie bows were recommended for starting shooters.It's a wonder I learned to shoot,eh!.I know some like a new bow on a regular basis and there's nothing wrong with that yet I'm still shooting that Longhunter.I was just wondering,Is it just me or are there others who are content with shooting the same bow for decades?
"The longbow is the reason we don't speak French today,"

Offline joe ashton

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Same bow 30 odd years
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2012, 05:39:00 PM »
I do still have my first trad bow but it's been retired for 20 years.  I did shoot it this week end but just a few arrows.
Joe Ashton,D.C.
 pronghorn long bow  54#
 black widow long bow 55#
 21 century long bow 55#
 big horn recurve  58#

Offline jsweka

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2012, 05:39:00 PM »
I like to build my own bows, so I rarely use the same bow for more than one season.  That being said, when I'm on the 3D course, I fear the man who only has one bow.
>>>---->TGMM<----<<<<

Offline wildcat hunter

• Trad Bowhunter