3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Best Trad Broadhead for good blood trails?  (Read 790 times)

Offline Buxndiverdux

• Trad Bowhunter
Best Trad Broadhead for good blood trails?
« on: January 03, 2012, 10:24:00 AM »
I'm a newbie to Trad but have 25 years of hunting experience with compounds. I've only shot a couple deer with the Trad Rig and the only blood trail I had to follow was sparse. The animal was double lunged at 13 yards. I had a complete pass thru and it broke a rib on exit. The arrow was firmly stuck in the ground. I shot her with a 580 grain (total weight) arrow with a A Boyer Javelina Lite single bevel broadhead. I was able to track the deer without too much trouble, but it was sparse compared to my compound bow trails. I shoot Spitfires.
I'm not bashing A Bowyer at all because one blood trail is one blood trail. I'd just like some opinions on broad heads and blood trails. Thanks,
Anneewakee Addiction Longbow
56" 57# @ 28"

Offline lpcjon2

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Best Trad Broadhead for good blood trails?
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2012, 10:32:00 AM »
To be honest you will get a lot of opinions. Two blade, three blade, four blade, ect. All broadheads can give good and bad blood trails depending on sharpness, how well the arrow hits the mark, and how the broadhead works with the arrow. If you use the search button up top you can search numerous threads about what heads are better and such. Its all about opinions and what you like in a head.I personaly feel that no head is better than another,just that some work better for others. All in all a well placed arrow with a sharp head will get the job done.Good luck in your search.Tim
Some people live an entire lifetime and wonder if they have ever made a