3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Biting The Bullet !!!!  (Read 389 times)

Offline Pistol Young

• Trad Bowhunter
Biting The Bullet !!!!
« on: January 04, 2012, 08:28:00 AM »
I have been shooting traditional for a couple years, but just couldn't make myself hunt with it exclusively. During the 2010 season I had it in the tree in Illinois along with the Hoyt. A doe came in 15 yds, quartering away and I came to anchor twice, letting down, second guessing my self and not wanting to wound a animal. I hung it up and killed the doe at 38 yds with the compound. I practiced all summer with all intentions of taking a deer with it in Nebraska in Sept. I had shot a 140" 11pt as well as a few Does so I went in naked with only the recurve. Like clock work the Doe came in at 8 yds broadside. I shot just over her back, she takes a couple steps and I released a second arrow " JUST OVER HER BACK " she makes a few hops and the 3rd arrow barely skimmed her back. No blood, just stringy backstrap meat on the arrow. I seen her on 2 different occasions over the next couple days. I put it back in the case and have not hunted with it any more this year. I've spent the last 3 months shooting from my elevated shooting tower. Talking with a few of my Trad only buddies the only way I will kill with it is to bite the bullet and hunt with it." DUH "
So I'm headed to a target rich environment in Texas for 3 days next week and only the Recurve and Longbow will be in the truck.
I hope to get my first Deer with traditional equipment.

By the way I lurk around alot without posting. There is a tremendous amount of info on this website.
Thanks Guys
Pistol Young ( Trad Newbie )
Black Widow PSA III 56" 53@28"
Black Widow PLX "camo" 62" 50@28"
Tunica Longbow 64" 56@28"