3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Chopping down some limbs on a recurve...?  (Read 1139 times)

Offline zze86

• Trad Bowhunter
Chopping down some limbs on a recurve...?
« on: January 10, 2012, 09:45:00 PM »
Hello! I believe this is my first post so a little introduction. I just took up archery about 3 months ago and I chose to buy a 50lb Martin Jaguar takedown recurve, not the prettiest bow but I didn't want to spend big bucks on something I wasn't sure if I would like and I'm a poor college student. Everybody I know shoots compounds so I'm kind of on my own island but I didn't want to shoot compounds simply because of aesthetic reasons: the bows aren't as pretty and you don't look as cool shooting those as you do a traditional bow.    :archer:    

Turns out I really like it and I've been shooting pretty much everyday but I've come to believe that the bow is just too tall for me. I'm a short, small guy and at first I thought I'd become used to the length but after trying out a custom 48" bow I realize how much more comfortable my shooting would be if the bow was shorter.

Alas, I cannot afford a new custom T/D bow so I was thinking of chopping the limbs on the Martin down to make it shorter. Limbs for this bow are fairly cheap so I was thinking about buying an extra set of limbs and bringing it from a 60" bow down to 50"-52" bow. Has anybody done anything like this? Good idea/bad idea (other than the bow might blow up in your face)? Will the draw weight change? shooting characteristics change?

Sorry if this is not the right forum but thanks in advance.
-Chee

Offline Hot Hap

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Chopping down some limbs on a recurve...?
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2012, 10:03:00 PM »