3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: When is it really time?  (Read 716 times)

Offline wisconsinteacher

• Trad Bowhunter
When is it really time?
« on: January 11, 2012, 08:24:00 PM »
I have been shooting trad bows for a few years and have my recurve set up to shoot broadheads.  I have hunted with it 5 times but have never shot at a deer.  I am unable to go 100% trad because I always feel that I will not make the shot with the trad bow or that I will have a deer at 30 yards that I will not be able to shoot at.  The last reason is the lesser of the two reasons.  We enjoy venison so in the back of my mind, I second guess the fact that I can fill the freezer with a trad bow.  Most of my shots are 20 yards or under, so I know I can get close but still don't know if it is time for me to go 100% trad.  Any ideas or tips to take the next step for me?

Offline KentuckyTJ

• SPONSOR
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: When is it really time?
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2012, 08:33:00 PM »
You will know its time when you no longer get a feeling of accomplishment out of your compound kill.
www.zipperbows.com
The fulfillment of your hunt is determined by the amount of effort you put into it  >>>---->

Offline Hummer3T

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2012, 08:46:00 PM »
I switched about four years ago, cold turkey on the compound, I did the same also almost 13 year ago with rifle hunting, it not all about getting animal, its about getting to be at more of an even plain with the animals your hunting. If your worried about taking animals, it might not be the right time.
Life is about learning from your mistakes!

Chek-mate hunter I 62" riser with 60" limbs 49&42lbs@28

Samick Sage 62" 50lbs@28

Big Jim Mountain Monarch Recurve  60 inch / 50 lbs @ 28