3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Arrow weight setup  (Read 356 times)

Offline bansheewins

• Trad Bowhunter
Arrow weight setup
« on: January 27, 2012, 12:24:00 PM »
Ok I see many threads about broadheads and weight of arrows and have come to the conclusion that whatever works best for you to stay with.  With that being said I would like to throw my setup out there and get opinions since this is my first year to Trad hunting.  It has worked for me this year on my first buck harvest but would like other opinions.

I am shooting 3 rivers traditional only arrows (300's 10.1gr) at full length not cut 32".  I have a 100gr brass insert and usinig a 125gr Woodsman 3 blade.  with this setup on my scale my arrows are at 595gr.  Again they work awesome for me and I can place them well out to 25 yards.

I get worried because I hear people say you should have 10gr per inch on average.  I am way over that.  Should I change my setup and lower the weight to gain speed or keep it the same?  The only reason I went with the 100gr insert is because I could go with the 125gr broadhead and get a bigger choice of heads.  

I am shoot a longbow 52# @28 and probably drawing closer to 29-30.

Thanks for your input
"Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day; teach that man to fish and he will eat for a life time"

Offline Smithhammer

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Arrow weight setup
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2012, 12:28:00 PM »
I take 10gpi as a minimum. You're not going to hurt anything by going higher, as long as you continue to get the kind of accuracy you say you are. In my opinion, go as heavy as you can to still be accurate @ 25 yards - the benefits are many.

Offline WoodsyDave

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2012, 12:39:00 PM »