3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Does anyone else have this problem with their bow arm shoulder?  (Read 219 times)

Offline Gil Verwey

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Does anyone else have this problem with their bow arm shoulder?
« on: February 03, 2012, 02:59:00 PM »
I shot a tradbow for a long time (total 54 years now). I had a head on car accident in 2001, which prevented me from shooting for about 5 years. I started shooting trad again in 2006. Around that time I wound up tearing my rotator cuff in my bow arm lifting weights (big dummy I am 315 lb bench press at 51 years old _ I couldn't do that at 18).

I have gotten back into form especially after attending Bob Wesley's class. I shoot bows between 60 and 70#. 60# is my my go to bow.

I thought I would try a light weight bow for from practice. I notice with a light weight bow my bow arm shakes something awful, but with my 60 or 70# bow my bow arm is rock solid.

Does anyone else experience this with lower weight bows? I am wondering if the heavier bows are masking an injury I have.

Since attending Bob's class all of my joints (shoulder, elbows and wrists) feel much better using proper form now, but I am concerned when I shoot lower poundage bows and see my arm shake like it does. It has me thinking.

Thanks
Gil
TGMM Family of the bow.

Offline Swiftspeed10

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Does anyone else have this problem with their bow arm shoulder?
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2012, 03:01:00 PM »
Maybe form differences with a heavier bow you force yourself to implement your back muscles so it puts less stress on your shoulder where as for a light bow you sort of just pull it back using more arm/shoulder than back?  Not really sure otherwise.
Benny