3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: need help please  (Read 344 times)

Offline bjohnson

• Trad Bowhunter
need help please
« on: July 23, 2007, 07:53:00 PM »
I am relatively new to hunting with a recurve but I have made the decision to use only that this year. the only problem is I need to get a new bow with about 400 dollars to spend on it. I have accessories for it but I need a new one and dont know which direction to go. I have shot and hunted with compounds for 16 years but I want more challenge. gave up rifle now I am giving up compounds if I can make this work... any suggestions about bows to look at as well as any advise on form and shooting is a warm welcome.. thanks guys
58" 55@28 ozark mountain longbow
54" 48@28 jeffreys royal T/D
62" 50@28 Black Canyon 3pc T/D
62" 59@28 Crow creek 3pc T/D

Offline ishiwannabe

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: need help please
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2007, 08:11:00 PM »
Check out the used bow section under main forums. Lots of nice bows there...
A few sponsors make bows as well, although Im not sure about their price range.
Im sure more will respond with other suggestions...good luck with your decision, and hunt for a new bow.
"I lost arrows and didnt even shoot at a rabbit" Charlie after the Island of Trees.
                         -Jamie

Offline mcgroundstalker

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2007, 08:43:00 PM »
First let me say Welcome Aboard! And four hundred bucks should get you started OK. You can find a good recurve to start you off on this site. Just choose one about ten to fifteen pounds lighter in draw than your compound was/is.