3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Practice with field tips?  (Read 294 times)

Offline aujack25

• Trad Bowhunter
Practice with field tips?
« on: February 21, 2012, 10:39:00 AM »
I'm pretty new to traditional archery, and was wondering what kind of points you hunters use when you are just target shooting. Do you use field tips even though your broadheads will probably fly differently? Or do you just use some broadheads for practicing too?  I have always shot a compound, and I know you can tune a compound to get your field tips and broadheads to hit the same place, but I'm not sure what you would do with a recurve or longbow. I apologize in advance for this incredibly dumb question, but like I said, I'm new to this!

Offline Pete Darby

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Practice with field tips?
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2012, 10:41:00 AM »
My arrows are tuned to the bow and I use the same weight field tips as broadheads.  They fly the same.
Pete Darby

Offline horsehairhunter

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2012, 10:44:00 AM »
Jack-Nope, not a silly question.  Just like compounds, you can tune your tradbow to shoot field tips and broadheads to the same place.  I use fieldtips most of the time, and have some old broadheads I use once in a while to confirm they fly the same.  I know alot of people like the bow tuning directions on the ACS website.  Look under "knowledge base" on the tabs.

Offline Osage61

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2012, 10:48:00 AM »
Everyone will tell you; "there are no dumb questions here" so always feel free to ask.