3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: How big a hog with a 42# recurve???  (Read 463 times)

Offline StanM

• Tradbowhunter
  • Trad Bowhunter
How big a hog with a 42# recurve???
« on: February 22, 2012, 12:42:00 AM »
Hey all,

I'm heading to Oklahoma next month for a hog hunt.  Due to some injuries I'm limited to a 42# recurve (Morrison ILF mini riser with Dryad limbs).  My arrows will be Easton Axis with our 150 grain Razorhawks up front.  Here's a pic of the head

I don't care much about the size of the hog and would pass on a large one if my set up isn't up to it.  I have very little experience with hogs and could use some advice on what to look for as far as the size of pig that this set up will handle.  Would rather go empty handed than shoot a large one and not get the penetration necessary.

I've done a search for hogs and believe I'm well versed on where the pocket is for boars with thick shields but I'll be honest, I don't know for sure that I'm able to hit what seems like a fairly small targe to me.  I'd rather be able to aim for the middle of the lungs and know that I've got enough umph to penetrate a double lung shot.  What size piggy am I look for?

Thanks.

Offline Cherokee Scout

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: How big a hog with a 42# recurve???
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2012, 12:45:00 AM »
Rod Jenkins has killed more than one big hog with bows of that poundage. If you hit them in the right spot, you will kill them.
John

« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2012, 01:09:00 AM »