3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: How much bow?  (Read 931 times)

Offline Kingsnake

• Trad Bowhunter
How much bow?
« on: March 02, 2012, 10:16:00 PM »
Just watched Byron Ferguson's "Become the Arrow."  In it, he recommends selecting max bow wieght by choosing something one can hold at full draw for at least ten seconds...and still be able to make an accurate shot.  As a newbie, I don't have an 'accurate shot' in my frame of reference yet.  Should I still use the ten second rule in determining my max bow weight?  

As always, thanks.

Doug

Offline lpcjon2

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: How much bow?
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2012, 10:18:00 PM »
Shoot what you have and work on your form. Good form will help you hold the weight.
Some people live an entire lifetime and wonder if they have ever made a
difference in the world, but the Marines don’t have that problem.
—President Ronald Reagan

Offline Kingsnake

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2012, 10:21:00 PM »
That's the problem, lpcjon2 . . .I am still trying to determine my max bow weight in order to buy my first trad bow.  Don't want to 'over bow' myself, but don't want to grow out of my first trad bow to fast, either.

Offline Shinken

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2012, 10:22:00 PM »
Yes - it's a good, but general, rule of thumb to follow - there are always exceptions, but if you are over-bowed now that may lead to some frustration and the development of some bad habits that may need to un-learned in the future....

One can always develop more strength to handle a heavier draw weight, but patience is necessary to do so....

Shoot straight, Shinken

:archer2:
"The measure of your life will be the measure of your courage."

TRUTH is TRUTH
even if no one believes it