3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: what bow length for my draw?  (Read 223 times)

Offline ozy clint

• Trad Bowhunter
what bow length for my draw?
« on: March 12, 2012, 06:07:00 AM »
ok guys, i've been shooting a 58" recurve for 4 years. my draw length is close to 28" to the deepest part of the grip, about 29 3/4" AMO. during long shooting sessions i get finger pinch on my bottom finger (split finger shooter)

i'm going to get new limbs made for it in a few months and was wondering what length you think would suit me best. 60" or 62"?
bow is bob lee takedown curve with 19" riser. will be around 55-57#
Thick fog slowly lifts
Jagged peaks and hairy beast
Food for soul and body.

Border black douglas recurve 70# and 58# HEX6 BB2 limbs

Offline Old Vet

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: what bow length for my draw?
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2012, 06:28:00 AM »
Overall bow length is always a compromise. A shorter bow is more convenient for most hunting situations, but they are not near as comfortable for extended shooting sessions. From the handle length and draw weight you described at your draw, a set of limbs that make the bow 62" would be the best of all situations. Comfortable to shoot, yet short enough for most hunting situations. My draw length is very similar to yours and although my 56" Cascade and 58" Stealth are great hunters, neither are my first choice for extended sessions shooting foam.
" Aim small....miss small"
Dwyer Dauntless; Black Widow PSA & PA; Mike Sullivan "Shadow" Recurve.

Offline Friend

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2012, 07:17:00 AM »
Sixty-two should be a marked improvement, however the bowyer would likley recommend sixty-four.
>>----> Friend <----<<