3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Paper tuning problems....need help  (Read 240 times)

Offline tking308

• Trad Bowhunter
Paper tuning problems....need help
« on: March 15, 2012, 11:04:00 PM »
This is my first experience paper tuning a recurve.  I'm shooting 56#. Gamegetter 340's cut to 31" with 100 gr brass inserts and 175gr field pts.  5" RW feathers. I shoot with the bow canted slightly to the right (tip points to about 1:00) I'm getting a consistent nock high tear very slightly right.  Right now my nock point is 1/2" above the shelf. Everything I've read says lower the nock point.  When I do, it gets worse.  The tear lengthens from about 1 1/2" to 3".  At this point I'm guessing it's my form.  I'm new to traditional archery so at this point, form is just what feels comfortable and hits the target consistently.  I don't have any problem putting arrows in a 4-6 inch group at 13 yards if I concentrate. (13 yards is the length I can shoot in my basement)  Anyone have any ideas.

Offline tking308

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Paper tuning problems....need help
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2012, 11:06:00 PM »
Forgot to add...I have tried different points, 125gr and inserts, switched from glove to tab, tried shooting at 3ft then 6ft and then 9ft. I've also adjusted feather position from cock up to cock out.  None of these things have helped.

Offline Prairie Drifter

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2012, 11:16:00 PM »