3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: ACS Recurve Tech Talk  (Read 489 times)

Offline MAT

• Trad Bowhunter
ACS Recurve Tech Talk
« on: March 22, 2012, 04:38:00 PM »
I wanted to start this tread to discuss some of the technical aspects of the ACS recurve limbs now being sold, and some of the newer materials (like carbon foam, which have some of the same advantages).  I am not an engineer, but I have a physical science background and the testing data fascinates me.  I still don’t understand all the physics involved but here are my observations and discussion points based on Blacky’s published testing data.  Note - John Harvard also has an excellent summary of the ACS design on the Dryad website.

The ACS design is based on producing limbs with less physical mass (weight), which improve the dynamic efficiency (DE).  This is really why the ACS longbow performance is on par with all but the best recurve limbs.  Efficiency is expressed in %, which is the energy imparted on the arrow divided by the stored energy. Energy is lost accelerating heavy limbs, thus the lighter the limbs the better.  Energy is also lost in heat (friction) from flexing the limbs, which is based on the material used.  I suspect the ACS might have an advantage because the limbs are not a thick as a standard longbow, and carbon is better than fiberglass.  It would be nice if someone who knows would weigh in on this.  There is also air drag moving the limbs through the air, so the shorter and narrower the better.