3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: 160 snuffers for elk?  (Read 369 times)

Offline Coiloil37

• Trad Bowhunter
160 snuffers for elk?
« on: April 09, 2012, 02:01:00 AM »
I'm fairly new to traditional archery but I've had training wheels for about 15 years and I've managed to take 13 elk. I've seen my share of penetration problems and I know a trad bow isn't putting out the same power as my old bow so I thought I would ask for your collective wisdom.
 I'm shooting a pronghorn, [email protected] (my dl) and I'm shooting 670 grain arrows with 275 up front. I've got 160 grain ace, el grandes, snuffers and vpa's and I would like to know what the elk hunters think about using the snuffers? I know the smart thing would be to hedge my bets and shoot the grizzlies or possibly the vpa's and I will probably shoot a couple of deer with the big snuffers before I trust them on an elk but what's YOUR opinion?

Offline m midd

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: 160 snuffers for elk?
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2012, 03:29:00 AM »
With that much bow you should not have penetration problems..im trying to decide if i want to use snuffers on elk this year too.. Im leaning toward 200gr Ace
Traditional Bowhunters of Arkansas

Offline Guru

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2012, 05:59:00 AM »
With your setup. I wouldn't hesitate!
Curt } >>--->   

"I love you Daddy".......My son Cade while stump shooting  3/19/06

Offline Tony Sanders

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2012, 06:37:00 AM »
I am with Guru one this one, just put the arrow where it needs to go, and no problems. Good luck in your endeavor.

Tony

Offline overbo

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2012, 07:03:00 AM »
Poor elk.Those 160 snuffer will leave a nasty mark

Offline COOCH