3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Need help w/ buffalo arrow for 76# recurve  (Read 337 times)

Offline Don_G

• Trad Bowhunter
Need help w/ buffalo arrow for 76# recurve
« on: April 14, 2012, 03:00:00 PM »
I have designed a new broadhead for a Cape Buff hunt in July. My PH wants to use them for water buff in May. The broadhead is 264 grains, the adapters are 111 grains, and a minimal 2.5" aluminum foooter will weigh 25 grains, so the head assembly weight will be near 400 grains.

I have NO experience tuning arrows for trad bows, and he will only be in town a few days, so I need some help getting things ready.

He is sort of a normal-sized guy, so I think he's drawing 28-29".  He uses a 76# Robertson Stykbow recurve. The broadhead has to mate with a 5/16 shaft. (And by 5/16 I mean .3125 +/-.001 inches.) As an example compound arrows are GoldTip Big Game 200 Kinetic Pros footed with 2.5" of 2012.  The 2012 section sticks up inside the broadhead and sets the shaft/head alignment, so basically I can only use 20XX shafts or shafts that can be footed with 20XX.

He wants a 950 grain arrow. I have Goldtip Big Game 200 Kinetic Pros, the 300 spine Axis STs, and can get 340 spines if I need them. I have weight tubes for the .204 ID arrows to get from near 750 grains up to near the 950 he wants.  I have the proper 20XX arrows to foot the 200, 300 and 340 spine shafts I have in hand.

Can anyone please give me a starting point on which arrow to star with, and how long of a footing to use?

Any advice appreciated, but direct experience is desired!   :)
Don G
66" ACS CSX 58# at my 29.5" draw, 30.5" BOH
Ashby disciple

Offline L. Perry

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Need help w/ buffalo arrow for 76# recurve
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2012, 03:11:00 PM »