3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Will this work? (arrows)  (Read 363 times)

Offline Brad Arnett

• Trad Bowhunter
Will this work? (arrows)
« on: May 07, 2012, 11:09:00 AM »
Hi gents, just was wondering if this would get me in the ballpark and hopefully work. I'm running a 50#@28" MOAB and I draw a true 27"s. I'm  planning on running 160 grizzly's w/100gr steel adapters, standard aluminum inserts in GT trad 35/55's. I've never done it before but I plan on just bareshaft tuning starting with them at FL and cutting down from there as needed.

I've played with the StuMiller spine calculator and "IF" my inputs are correct it looks like it calls for about 50# and when I spec out a 35/55 with 260gr they'll be at about 45# down at 28".

I'm just wondering if my chosen combo will likely work?

Thanks in advance for your time, Brad.

Offline Outwest

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Will this work? (arrows)
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2012, 06:56:00 PM »
Sounds like it should be close.
Only one way to find out.
Start tinkeren.

John

Offline trick00

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2012, 07:21:00 PM »
Just make sure before you cut!! you are probably not too far off from being right with a full length shaft. I shoot full length 35/55s with 100 gr brass insert and 225 field points out of my 56# fox royal crown, 27" draw and they will bare shaft all in a nice 8" circle with fletched shafts at 35yds when i do my part. like outwest said, start tinkerin! oh yeah,  in my experience stus calc. seems to always show a stiffer shaft that what bareshaft shows with carbons. it seems to be on the money with wood though. go figure

Offline Brad Arnett

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2012, 07:29:00 PM »