3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: I gave a hog a haircut today!  (Read 288 times)

Offline jarradmears

• Trad Bowhunter
I gave a hog a haircut today!
« on: May 07, 2012, 11:03:00 PM »
I'll start this story by acknowledging the fact that I'm a beginner and have missed before with a rifle, compound, etc... I just got my recurve not long ago from Roland Jenkins (which I love by the way) and have been shooting it pretty decent. I decided to try my hand at a little spot I have by the river this afternoon. Keep in mind that I have never shot Trad from up in the trees which I should have practiced before hunting (live and learn).

So I get to my stand around 4:00p.m. this afternoon and I'm playing all of the scenarios through my head about which way they will come from etc.. and just about 30 minutes later they come barreling out. I stand up and get prepared to take my shot at a nice sow around 100lbs or so. I'm only about 15 yards away so no big deal right? I pick a spot and draw back to my anchor point and let her fly! Fly she did right over that sows back and into the tree behind her. I shot high and was amazed because I've been shooting pretty decent lately.