3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: question on camo  (Read 565 times)

Offline tradhunterRN

• Trad Bowhunter
question on camo
« on: May 30, 2012, 05:28:00 PM »
Ok guys so I am new to bowhunting and hunting in general. Got my first license last fall at age 21 (22 now). Anyhow I was wondering what my experienced friends here have to say about the role of camouflage in stalking/still hunting with a bow. The reason I ask is I see some guys go all out with expensively purchased or tediously home constructed ghille suits. Then there are others like Fred Bear who stalk in flannel shirts. How important is aggressive camouflage? And what game is it most important for or least important for? Thanks guys!!!

Also any info on or links to info on stalking techniques would be much appreciated as this novice begins to practice for the fall whitetail season in Ohio  :)

Offline CalArcher

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: question on camo
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2012, 05:38:00 PM »
This is my opinion - For turkeys I suggest 3D leafy or ghille. For everything else, camo is not necessary; movement and scent will bust you every time. Move slowly, sit still, and keep the wind in your face. Nearly all camo being marketed is designed to catch the human eye. I would be more concerned with material type than pattern. When I started out, I did a ton of research and found Cabela's Microtex line of hunting clothes in Outfitter camo to best suit me. Now I'm older, wiser, and have more money - That said, Merino wool is best.
Husband, Father, Bowhunter

Online wooddamon1

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2012, 06:09:00 PM »
Camo for turkeys, anything that breaks up your outline for everything else, as long as your still and playing the wind right.