3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: More Fun with Black Bears and Ground Blinds  (Read 665 times)

Offline Ken Taylor

• Trad Bowhunter
More Fun with Black Bears and Ground Blinds
« on: July 01, 2012, 03:44:00 PM »
From signs I read around my bait site, I knew that I had two adult boars (besides the usual anti-social mix of bears).

One was a fully mature boar whose sign I had been paying close attention to for a couple of years back, and whom I figured was up in age. The other was a new guy that I thought hadn't reached his full potential yet.

After filling my tag elsewhere last year, I had guided a friend at this site and I had spotted the old guy for the first time  for all of five seconds... before my buddy inadvertently spooked him, even though he was still a ways off.  People are often surprised how wary big bears can be.

So anyhow, this season, on this particular evening, I was watching an average bear work the bait about 14 yards away when (to my satisfaction) he left abruptly.

On alert and anticipating a bigger bear appearing at the bait in front of me at any moment, my peripheral vision picked up black fur moving quickly towards me from the side.

An energetic bear of more than respectable size with a shiny black coat that showcased his solid musculature was now within reach. Unfortunately, this wasn't the bear I was hunting.

He seemed in a rush to check everything out and when he got up  on two legs to look around he was taller than I thought he would be. Problem was, he was so darn close to my blind when he stood up and swiveled that periscope like neck around, something caught his attention inside my blind.