3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Nonresident Montana Native Hunting License  (Read 269 times)

Offline sticksnstones

• Trad Bowhunter
Nonresident Montana Native Hunting License
« on: July 04, 2012, 10:11:00 PM »
I am just getting started on a plan for a 2013 DIY elk hunt. My first step was going through all the regs for all the states on my short list to figure out where to go.

I stumbled upon this license class in the Montana regs and I wondered if anyone here had used the program? My birth certificate and hunters ed card were both issued in Montana and I have several qualifying family members living in the state.

If anyone has experience with it, any gotchas or fine print I'm missing? It looks almost too good to be true. If it is as it reads, I think this will put Montana as the top choice for me.
Thom

Offline JimB

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Nonresident Montana Native Hunting License
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2012, 10:31:00 PM »
I wasn't aware of it but it sure sounds like that is the case.I would call one of the FWP offices to be sure.It does sound pretty clear to me.Just make sure you have all the information they request.Good luck.

Offline Tutanka

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2012, 08:18:00 AM »
I used that program to buy my license this year, my elk tag only cost me $80.00.  I did not have to deal with any fine print at all, it all went very smooth.  I was in Montana when I purchased my tag, I'm not sure if you would have to be present or not.  The person at the Fish and Game office told me that I did not have to be present.  I used my Dad for my family member, he has lived in MT his entire life.