3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Newbie  (Read 238 times)

Offline wapitirod

• Trad Bowhunter
« on: July 19, 2012, 04:18:00 AM »
I found this site doing a search for Traditional Archery the other day and decided to check it out. So far I like what I see.  I'm originally from SW Oregon outside Medford and then spent several years in Central OR just outside Bend and now I live in Tillamook on the NW coast.  We have excellent Roosevelt hunting and fair deer hunting but it's tough country in the coastal mountains.  We are looking to go back to Central Oregon hopefully before the end of the year. I started bowhunting in 84 with an old Bear Grizzly II compound I shot instinctive. I started shooting recurves in 88 when I bought a Bear T/D hunter in 55#. I hunted with that bow for a couple years until I picked up a 72# Brackenbury Drifter I bought from Jim shortly before he died.  I used the brack until the mid 90's when I went back to rifle hunting so I could take my wife and young children  along a little easier.    Starting in 99 I hunted with both compounds and firearms in Eastern OR for Mulies and Elk. Around 2002 I started shooting my recurves again but due to multiple medical issues I couldn't shoot them anymore.  I then got heavy into handgun hunting  in 07 when I was disabled from injuries and figured my bowhunting days were over. I wasn't ready to become a couch potatoe so I opened a gunsmithing shop specializing in hunting revolvers and single shot T/C's as well as custom big bore revolvers.  Last year I decided to take out the Brack and give it a shot, I was not optimistic after 11 orthopedic surgeries in 7 years including 3 wrist, 3 neck, 1 shoulder and 4 lower back leaving me with 5 levels fused.  To my surprise I was drawing and sh