3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: go or no go shooting  (Read 410 times)

Offline bornagainbowhunter

• Trad Bowhunter
go or no go shooting
« on: August 07, 2012, 12:20:00 PM »
Guys, here is a quick question and story.  
Last week we were at a tournament.  There was a new-to-trad guy in the group asking alot of questions.  Now, also in the group was a fellar that has been shooting a stick for about 2 years and killed a deer or 2 with one last year.  The newb asked about how many deer we have killed with a stick.  The 2 year vet said 2 deer and I said several.  John, the newb, asked "well how many is several?", to which I replied that I didn't count, but I have been shooting trad for 12+ years and killed 3-4 in AR every year and 1 or 2 out of state.

He asked about shooting distance for deer.  I told him it just had to be right.  I see every shot as a go, a no-go, or a wait a minute and see what happens.  I dont have a set distance.  When I made that comment, the 2 year vet said,"Yeah, but he will only take gimme shots.  he won't shoot anything that is not a sure deal".  

Now this was meant to be sas mouthed comment, but it is true.  I agreed.  I have killed deer at 2 or 3 steps and I have killed them at 35.  Granted, my usual shot is only about 12 to 15 yards, but if it all feels right, then I take it.

Now I am not looking for a "More ethical than thou" argument.  I am simply looking for 2 things.  Do most of you have a set distance for a shot or do you have a go or no-go mindstate, like myself.  The next question is, do you think that the need to streach the distance on a shot is coming from the compound 50+ yard shot videos and hunting stories or basic lack of hunting skills to get close.