3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Short Bow for a Short Draw Newbie  (Read 250 times)

Offline RusTia

• Trad Bowhunter
Short Bow for a Short Draw Newbie
« on: August 14, 2012, 07:43:00 AM »
Hello Gents,

I'm in the market for a short AMO recurve or longbow to suit my smaller stature.  I'm 5'3" and shoot a 40-50lb compound almost daily. My draw length is between 25" - 26" (I haven't settled on my shooting style/anchor points for traditional yet).

I started shooting stick bows at a young age (5yrs old) but switched to compounds as a pre-teen and have been shooting them exclusively since (I'm 26 now).  After visiting with my Dad recently and shooting a recurve again, I'm itching to get into traditional.

The recurve I was shooting was a 60", 35lb - certainly fun, but felt too big for my spastic and wiry little frame  :)

In summary, I'm lookin' for something with 48" - 56" AMO.  At least 35lb rating so I can hunt with it someday (my primary goal). And here's the kicker...I've only got about $300 to spend  :(

What are your thoughts?

THANKS!!!!!

Offline Frenchymanny

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Short Bow for a Short Draw Newbie
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2012, 08:25:00 AM »
Buy used for the first bow, just to discover what you like.

Good luck,
F-Manny
Coureur des Bois
Big Jim: Buffalo Bows 62" 60@27 & 65@27 ThunderChilds 56" 62@27 & 62@27 Desert BigHorn 59@27
ML, Shrew &TC Knives
With a sturdy bow, a true shaft, and a stout heart, we journey forth in
search of adventure.

Dr. Saxton Pope

Offline Bladepeek

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2012, 09:34:00 AM »