3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: New Hill bows Vs. Northern Mist  (Read 385 times)

Offline HumbleHunter

• Trad Bowhunter
New Hill bows Vs. Northern Mist
« on: August 27, 2012, 06:34:00 PM »
Just curious if anybody has had both maker's bows and how they compared to each other.

As much good as I read about the HH bows (Especially on HH Bug page) I was kinda surprised how reasonable the prices are on their website.

I have zero experience with this type of bow but plan to in the very near future    :archer:

I'm especially interested in experiences with bow weights around 50lbs in both bows but welcome all input!

Thanks, HH

Offline khardrunner

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: New Hill bows Vs. Northern Mist
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2012, 06:36:00 PM »
You can add Nate Steen, Dave Miller, and Dave Johnson to the big five there. ALL great bowyers!
I Corinthians 9 24-25
...run in such a way so as to obtain the prize!

Offline owlbait

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2012, 06:52:00 PM »
I shot Steve's(Northern Mist) Swinehart Special that he built for Chuck Deshler(TwoTracks) and it was amazing. That and Chuck's own Hill style bow were a real pleasure to shoot and I've never had much success or enjoyment shooting Hill bows before.
Advice from The Buck:"Only little girls shoot spikers!"

Online Ben Maher

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2012, 07:26:00 PM »
I have one Northern Mist and several Hills , as well as similiar style bows from various makers .

Craig at Howard Hill'scustomer service and quick turn around build time is hard to beat . Steve Turay's bows are beautiful but being kinda impatient I tend to balk at 9 month waiting lists ... but you can't go wrong with either bowyer