3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: I've never shot my longbow from a stand..  (Read 379 times)

Offline USN_Sam1385

• Trad Bowhunter
I've never shot my longbow from a stand..
« on: September 06, 2012, 11:49:00 PM »
Well I have been shooting for going on 4 years now. I do most of my shooting from my basement as it is fairly long (approximately 25 yards), and I can't really shoot outside as I live in a neighborhood.

I have probably fired 10,000+ arrows from my bow at least. I am confident in my shooting and can consistently group within about a 4-6" circle at 25 yards.(on most days, lol)

I am getting ready to go to my brother-in-laws farm for opening weekend of archery season here in Missouri.

I am debating bringing my longbow as I have NEVER shot it from an elevated stand, always the ground.

I really want to bring it, but I am a bit unsure how much different firing it from a stand will be. Stand is only 15ft from the ground.

You guys think it will make that much of a difference??? Or should I just go for it?
62" Craig Warren Black Timber 3PC T/D Recurve: 48lb @ 28".

Offline USN_Sam1385

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: I've never shot my longbow from a stand..
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2012, 11:54:00 PM »
PS: I know the ethical answer is to practice from a stand.

What I am looking for is guys with experience shooting both ways, ground and stand, and letting me know if the difference will ne negligible enough (and thus ethical) to justify hunting from a stand with my longbow.
62" Craig Warren Black Timber 3PC T/D Recurve: 48lb @ 28".

Offline JamesKerr

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2012, 11:54:00 PM »