3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: any of you guys prefer stalking?  (Read 570 times)

Offline Dogbyte

• Trad Bowhunter
any of you guys prefer stalking?
« on: September 16, 2012, 03:52:00 PM »
im still new to hunting deer with trad gear, ive shot and killed hogs, but thats about it. Ive killed deer with compound bows, but mostly from a stand, only a few from the ground, and they were flukes, we just happen to cross paths, but i wasnt necessarily "stalking".

it was opening morning here in Arkansas yesterday, like everyone else i think, i got rained on, i went that evening, and while it wasnt fun getting rained on, it was however nice to be able move and be so quiet through the woods...

i recently got new contacts, and man, did they ever help, i spotted a doe through the woods about 50 yards, but it was downwind... i knew it was a matter of time. So i tried as fast as i could to get close enough for a shot.

as i got about 30 yard from her, she began to look behind her, toward a small 1/2 acre clearing in the woods...she was just on the edge of it, in some tall grass. She finally leaped away, but not as if she had winded me. tail was down, she didnt spook before she left or anything. At first i thought maybe my scent finally caught up to her, but given the way she left, i thought maybe she seen something in the clearing, like another deer or another hunter... After i got back to the truck i know for sure it wasnt another hunter. So im guessing my scent finally caught up to her, and i just wasnt fast enough getting to her to shoot...