3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: what type of snake  (Read 535 times)

Offline Slickhead

• Trad Bowhunter
what type of snake
« on: September 20, 2012, 08:05:00 AM »
Hey guys Im not an expert on snakes. But Saturday my wife and I were cleaning up the yard of a place we are buying and I looked down on the sidewalk was a (what looked like a baby) snake.
It had the pattern similar to a copperhead but was brown/tan. (I live in south east Ohio)
It was strange, when I was close to it its neck flatten and it rose its head "like a cobra does"
Well I killed it. I examined its eyes and they were round and black.
what kind of snake do you think this is?
sorry no pics
Slickhead

Offline Sean B

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: what type of snake
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2012, 08:10:00 AM »
It sounds like a Milk snake.  many snakes will flatten thier heads when they feel threatend
Sean
PBS Regular Member
Comptons
NY Bowhunters Association
BW KB X
BW PCH X
BW PSR X
Robertson Tribal Styk

Offline bornagainbowhunter

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2012, 08:10:00 AM »
The color don't make sense, but they do change with local areas.  I would say for the reaction of the snake it should be a spreading adder.  We have those in AR.  Not harmful, but cool.  I caught one the other day and showed my kiddos.  They are usually short and stout built, dark colored with a dim pattern, around here anyway.

God Bless,
Nathan
But thou, O LORD, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head. Psalms 3:3

Offline KOOK68

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2012, 08:30:00 AM »
hognose snake. They will also play dead.

Offline eminart

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2012, 08:30:00 AM »