3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: First traditonal kill...  (Read 965 times)

Offline DaddyPaul

• Trad Bowhunter
First traditonal kill...
« on: September 23, 2012, 03:49:00 PM »
As some of you know this is my first year hunting with traditional gear, came close a couple of times over the years but just never committed to it fully...until now.  

I hunted one sit in Georgia opening weekend and had a close encounter with three bucks, two 8 pointers and a 6 pointer.  The biggest of which will crowd 130"s all day and got to within 15 yards but I never could get a shot.  I was sitting on the ground in a natural blind and he came in to my immediate right side.  I was heartbroken that I didn't get a a shot but to be that close to such a beast on my first ever trad hunt really got me pumped up.

Opening weekend in Florida was a bit of a wash for me due to a travel softball tournament with my daughter.  I felt being there for her was the right thing to do and will do so again in a heartbeat.  

I finally got a free afternoon last Sunday (they won the tournament) and had a decent 7 point hang up on me at about 30 yards.  Probably could have burned him with my compound but since I sold it a couple weeks back, no dice.  Next came a spike but again, no shot.  Close to dark thirty, two jumbo does came into range and I shot the biggest one at 18 yards.  I thought the shot was perfect and immediately texted gblrklr and told him it was done...my first trad kill was in the books.