3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Elk bow ?  (Read 198 times)

Offline Tom L

• Trad Bowhunter
Elk bow ?
« on: October 08, 2012, 01:03:00 AM »
I shoot a 50lb longbow. What arrow weight would be best for elk?

Tom
Gal. 2:20 Let Jesus Live

Offline twistedlim

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Elk bow ?
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2012, 06:22:00 AM »
I am by no means an expert but I used 685 gr with my Toelke Whip 51 lb but did not get a chance to see how well it would work.  I am just thinking at least 600 gr.  Perhaps the elk experts could chime in?

Offline Kris

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2012, 09:03:00 AM »
Tom,

It's not as easy as someone telling you what weight arrow to use.  There are several important factors to consider contributing to arrow efficiency/penetration.  In no particular order.

- arrow flight
- broadhead mechanical advantage (MA)
- weight Forward of Center (FoC)
- integrity of total arrow setup (strength/reliability)

Many would suggest a starting point of 10 grains/inch arrow length.  I would suggest 500 to 700 grains depending on your arrow flight et. al., your expectations and your ability to shoot this setup accurately at a range you pre limit yourself to.  Many would argue that placing your arrow exactly where it needs to go is the most importance factor...I would tend to agree, however, this does not diminish the importance of these other factors as well.

There are endless amounts of posts regarding this subject and related topics.  Do a search.

Best of luck in your quest for a “best” elk arrow!

Kris

Offline wapitirod

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2012, 09:16:00 AM »