3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: What do I do about deer jumping the string?  (Read 457 times)

Offline Oldskool2

• Trad Bowhunter
What do I do about deer jumping the string?
« on: October 09, 2012, 09:33:00 PM »
Hi All, I am new to bowhunting and I need some tips. Here is my dilemna- I am shooting a Samick Sage 55#@ 30in. recurve. I have outfitted the bow with a fast flight string, beaver balls and felt pads on the string grooves as well as tuning the brace height for optimal smoothness and quiet performance. I am pretty confident my bow is as quiet as it can be but recently I have missed shots at does jumping the string at only 20 yards. I have been aimimng for the center of the lung heart region about 4" above the shoulder and am beginning to think i should aim lower but am concerned that the deer wont move and I will have a poor shot. I assume the speed of sound is faster than my arrow (420 grains total) and I am just wondering what other guys have learned in respect to hunting these incredibly agile fast creatures. Thanks in advance for any tips!!
"There's nowhere you can be that isn't where your meant to be"
John Lennon

Offline BOHO

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: What do I do about deer jumping the string?
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2012, 09:36:00 PM »
thats very light for your poundage. if you go to a 550-600 grain arrow that will quieten your bow considerably. I usually shoot for the knuckle just behind the elbow knowing our deer will always drop at the shot. good luck.
TGMM Brotherhood of the Bow
Black Widow Recurve
Mike Corby Special
DAS Recurve

Offline threeunder

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2012, 09:44:00 PM »