3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Wood arrow ?  (Read 168 times)

Offline Llamma1

• Trad Bowhunter
Wood arrow ?
« on: October 13, 2012, 03:42:00 PM »
I just switched to wood this year so I am fairly new at putting wood arrows together. Seems when I shoot the firmer 3-D targets my glue on points have  a tendency to come off. What do you do to stop that from happening? Thank you for any help.
Now then, get your equipment—your quiver and bow—and go out to the open country to hunt some wild game for me.

Offline centaur

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Wood arrow ?
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2012, 03:53:00 PM »
Are you using hot melt? Have you cleaned the inside of the points before attaching them to the shaft?
If you don't like cops, next time you need help, call Al Sharpton

Offline Breakfast Boy

• Corporate Sponsor
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2012, 04:21:00 PM »
Take a small piece of sandpaper, roll it up so it goes into the field point.  Run it in there, turn it a few times and scuff the inside.  Then take a Q-tip soaked in a little bit of mineral spirits or thinner and clean out the inside.  This removes the sandpaper grit and any oil residue from the manufacturing process.  Once dry (only takes a minute or two), use some hot melt glue (I like Bohning's stuff) and glue the points on.  I very, very, very rarely have a point come off using this process.
-Jameson

Membership Secretary
Compton Traditional Bowhunters

www.comptontraditionalbowhunters.com

Offline Llamma1

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2012, 04:26:00 PM »
Thank you. I didn't realize that the inside of the point had oils in them.
Now then, get your equipment—your quiver and bow—and go out to the open country to hunt some wild game for me.