3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Tall Tine handle tweak  (Read 669 times)

Offline Lin Rhea

• Trad Bowhunter
Tall Tine handle tweak
« on: October 16, 2012, 04:21:00 PM »
I've been tuning some arrows for my Tall Tines and discovered that when I do a lot of shooting I get some spots on my hand where the handle irritates it a little. So, I studied it a little before I started sanding, but I tweaked it some to settle my hand on into the grip.

The wrist was too high for me and I took some of that down to start with. I have not held another Tall Tines, but I imagine what I done was to make it into a "medium". Then just worked on the front of the riser to settle each finger in it's natural place. I like a grip instead holding loose, not too tight but a grip.

Anyway, it helped. I thought you might want to see some shots to see that I didn't ruin it.   :D  

This shows it in my hand held rel loose so you can see. One place that was irritated was the top of my thumb joint. You can tell I raised it up a little.

I thought long and hard about this before doing it. I'm not recommending that anyone make changes to their bow themselves. It's just that I intend to have this bow till I drop. Plus I have some experience shaping handles.
"We dont rent pigs." Augustus McCrae
ABS Master Bladesmith
TGMM Family of the Bow
Dwyer Dauntless longbow 50 @ 28
Ben Pearson recurve 50 @ 28
Tall Tines Recurve 47@28
McCullough Griffin longbow 43@28

Offline lunchbucket

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Tall Tine handle tweak
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2012, 04:31:00 PM »
Nicely done the right grip is everything.

Offline awbowman

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2012, 04:36:00 PM »
Nicely done Lin.