3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: How many lbs do you go up when comfortable  (Read 401 times)

Offline Lakeshooter

• Trad Bowhunter
How many lbs do you go up when comfortable
« on: October 18, 2012, 11:12:00 PM »
Right now I have been shooting my 46lb quinn recurve for about 4 months. I am now being able to stack them fairly well on my first couple sets of arrows. I am wanting to go up in weight a little for range and hunting reasons. I was thinking to 48 or 50. How many pounds do you go up at a time?
"Now then, take your weapons, your quiver and your bow, and go out to the field and hunt game for me"- Genesis 27:3

Online pdk25

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: How many lbs do you go up when comfortable
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2012, 11:18:00 PM »
I don't think I would spend any money to only go up 2#, but that is me.  4-6# probably wouldn't be too much of a jump, and you should see some performance gains.  That being said, your 46# bow should do real well for you and this late in the season may not be the best time for a change.

Offline AWPForester

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2012, 11:28:00 PM »
At 46 pounds, I would go to no less than 50 if I'm buying, probably 55.  Bu there are other things to consider.  You say the first couple of sets you are accurate.  Are you truly tiring or just losing focus?  Also, your powerstroke and a pull through release with your back is much more contribuing to performance than draw weight.  46 @ 28 is equivilent to 50-52 @ 27 in performance.  I say that to give you an idea that you can still very cleanly and easily kill anything you want with that bow.  Just a bad time to change.  Stick with what you got and work on the change in the off season.  God Bless