3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: I'm Hooked!  (Read 154 times)

Offline eminart

• Trad Bowhunter
I'm Hooked!
« on: October 22, 2012, 10:03:00 AM »
I've been bowhunting only since I was 10 years old. I'm 35 now. I have always hunted with a compound other than a couple of half-hearted hunts with a recurve 15 years ago.

After getting the traditional itch, my wife bought me a 66" Bamabow Hunter longbow this past father's day. I finally got to take it in the woods this past Saturday morning.

This was also my first time trying to hunt off the ground, so it was a new world for me. I sneaked in before daylight and sat down in some switch cane where I was well hidden. As it began to get light, I thought maybe I should move over about 20 yards. But, I liked my hiding spot, and stayed put. You've all heard this story right? Of course, 30 minutes later a spike walked right by where I almost moved to. He ended up turning and going away from me. But, it was a great experience. I liked being on the ground where I had the ability to move around to get a better shot (even if I didn't get one). Very exciting. I just misjudged where the deer would be by about 20 yards. Unfortunately, I was only able to hunt half a day the first weekend. Maybe next week.

When I saw that deer coming, I thought, Holy crap, I'm going to get one on my first hunt! Haha, oh well.
“...the old ones ... knew in their bones... that death exists, that all life kills to eat, that all lives end, that energy goes on. They knew that humans are participants, not spectators.” -- Stephen Bodio, On the Edge of the Wild

Online wooddamon1

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: I'm Hooked!
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2012, 10:20:00 AM »