3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: new member here...help please?  (Read 514 times)

Offline Capnrock

• Trad Bowhunter
new member here...help please?
« on: October 23, 2012, 09:15:00 AM »
Hello all.  I am a newbie to traditional archery.  I don't even own any traditional archery items at this time.  I have however, read many of the posts on here.  From eye dominance to which bow for a beginner to poundage. I will willing admit my ignorance to the traditional side of things.  I will also admit that I am ready to move to the traditional side of things, recurves in particular.  Yes, I am another one of those guys that shoot compounds, so thats where most of my knowledge lies.  

A little about me.  I shoot a 29" draw at aprox 67#. My wheelie offers 80% let off.  So I am roughly holding 15# at full draw. I have come to realize that I should start with a 45#-50# recurve. I shoot RH, although my dominant eye is left.  I am pretty sure I want to shoot recurves LH.

I have noticed alot of hype with the samick sage bow being reccomended to beginners, however, I have also noticed just about as much hype reguarding buying used from the classifieds.  I have checked and haven't really noticed anything in the classifieds...have I just missed it?

I also agree with everyone who says start inexpensive because you'll buy another one.  So yes I am looking for inexpensive now with the intent of later purchasing big/custom.

Can I get any advice from some of you veterans of the sport?  Thanks

Offline NoCams

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: new member here...help please?
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2012, 09:22:00 AM »
Welcome !