3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: de-laminating tip question  (Read 424 times)

Offline buckeyebowhunter

• Trad Bowhunter
de-laminating tip question
« on: October 23, 2012, 07:28:00 PM »
Hey guys I recently purchased a 98 Black Widow SA from the big auction site, and was excited about it until I started shooting and noticed that the fiberglass on the tip of the upper limb was pulling away from the wood. Im guessing that i'll probably have to send it to black widow to have it fixed. I was just wondering what you guys thought about it. Is it safe to use? Should I be stressed out about it? I'm just really ticked off because I payed big money for it. Any way here are some pics.

Offline Bjorn

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: de-laminating tip question
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2012, 07:45:00 PM »
I feel your pain and been there. I would allow some Loctite 420, or similar, into the crack and clamp the area without too much tension. Leave it for a few hours and fire away. Alternatively if you don't feel comfortable doing that send it to BW and they can fix it for you.

Offline stevewills

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2012, 07:59:00 PM »
send it to black widow,i just sent mine for the same thing,it was cheap for them to fix it and refinish the seperated tip..just to be safe i would send it back,just give them a call
i like biscuits

Offline buckeyebowhunter

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2012, 08:02:00 PM »
Thanks guys that makes me feel better already. I havnt been this mad in a while. I love the bow and it shoots great but seeing that made my heart skip a beat; it was very un-noticeable but just one of those things that makes me upset.

Offline oldbohntr

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2012, 08:29:00 PM »