3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Removing Old Snake Skin Backing  (Read 191 times)

Offline graygoat

• Trad Bowhunter
Removing Old Snake Skin Backing
« on: October 24, 2012, 07:59:00 PM »
Hello From Arkansas I have a old Hoyt Huntmaster recurve that a friend and I backed with copperheads about 20 years ago . All we did was use wood glue on them and it worked. We didn't seal the skins after it dried. Now I want to change them out. What can I use to remove the skins and old glue.I'm thinking about denatured alcohol.Any ideas?     :archer2:

Offline Butternutz

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Removing Old Snake Skin Backing
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2012, 11:15:00 PM »
Did you try to rehydrate with water and peel them off?  Don
Blackwidow PSA 60"46@28
Toelke Whip 60"44@28
Toelke Classic 58"41@28
Blackwidow PTF V 58"51@28
=})})}=LAWMAN=>

Offline graygoat

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2012, 08:04:00 AM »
No but I'll try it first it should loosen it some thanks

Offline YORNOC

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2012, 08:20:00 AM »
yes, a warm dampened cloth left on should really get things going.
David M. Conroy

Offline lt-m-grow

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2012, 10:09:00 AM »
I think I would go slow on the water...NOT AN EXPERT...It is just something in my gut that says soaking 20 year-old limbs with water for extended period of times, may not be the best idea.  I am assuming that if the skins were never sealed, neither were the limbs resealed over that time.

I would think a ding or two over that time would leave the wood exposed in a spot or two. And then the soaking water would be bad.

Maybe contact a skins expert or two to get there opinion first.

Good luck.