3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Reshaping Grip  (Read 243 times)

Offline richbat

• Trad Bowhunter
Reshaping Grip
« on: October 25, 2012, 03:42:00 PM »
I have a Mahaska recurve that i was going to sell but i think i'm going to keep it now,but the grip[locator]seems abit to wide for my liking and with money being tight thought i might try and rework the grip myself.Now i have never done this before and have some concerns about on the proper way to tackle this,it has an accent stripe running down the riser so not really sure if that matters or not but my goal is to take some of the width from both sides off so the grip fits alittle better.Any suggestions would be very much appreciated.
Richard Battistoni

Offline ron w

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Reshaping Grip
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2012, 04:04:00 PM »
It's not that hard....remember you can't put it back on....lol! Go slow, try it, remove some more, try it again. When you think you may have it close....go out and shoot it a few times. When it's right , sand it smooth and put a good water proof finish on it and you will be good to go! GO SLOW!!!! Have fun....I like them Mahaskas.....   :thumbsup:    :thumbsup:
In the beginner's mind there are many possibilities. In the expert's there are few...So the most difficult thing is always to keep your beginner's mind...This is also the real secret of the arts: always be a beginner.  Shunryu Suzuki

Offline richbat

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2012, 04:14:00 PM »