3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: How far "in" do you go?  (Read 377 times)

Offline Sarah

• Trad Bowhunter
How far "in" do you go?
« on: November 04, 2012, 06:47:00 PM »
Worked up the nerve to check out some nearby State Game Lands (Central PA) after spending a lot of time seeing nothing on a piece of private property. I might as well have been waiting for a bus out in those woods.    :rolleyes:    

Anyway, I have very little experience hunting - this is my first season seriously trying to get out in the woods and bag a deer. I've been out to the Game Lands a couple of times and have seen some cars pulled over here and there, but no one yet where I've been. LOTS of deer sign though, rubs, droppings, paths, and deer every time I've gone in.

Today I scouted in about a mile and spooked two big bucks, but I've seen a lot of evidence of deer as little as a half mile from the road.

My question is, how far does the average hunter hike, and how far do you all typically hike in if you're on public lands? AND How should I expect the game to change come regular firearms season?

Any little tips for public land would be appreciated too.

Offline RC

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: How far "in" do you go?
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2012, 06:50:00 PM »
I have killed pigs as far as 4 miles in . Usually how "thick" the cover is determins how deep you need to go. I`ve killed critters so close that they fell almost in the road after their run . Public land in the South is very good hunting.I really don`t approach it any different. Find good sign in thick cover and hunt it.RC

Offline BDann

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2012, 07:13:00 PM »