3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Practice light - Hunt Heavy???  (Read 1980 times)

Offline pseman

• Trad Bowhunter
Practice light - Hunt Heavy???
« on: August 15, 2007, 11:37:00 AM »
Looking for opinions here not arguments.

I am relatively new to trad shooting but have been wondering lately. I am shooting a 52# recurve now and am anxiously awaiting the arrival of my Horne Brushbow 44# this week. While I don't plan on doing this right away, I would also like to purchase a recurve in the 60# range(heavy to me) for hunting. I like the idea of a heavier bow and arrow setup for hunting, especially for larger game but I also like to shoot(alot) and worry that the heavier draw weight may cause bad form or injury if I shoot too much. But for hunting(one shot) the heavier bow is appealing.

My question is this, is it a good idea to practice with a light weight bow and hunt with a heavy weight bow? Do any of you do this?
Mark Thornton

It doesn't matter how or what you shoot, as long as you hit your target.

Offline SteveMcD

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Practice light - Hunt Heavy???
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2007, 11:45:00 AM »
Nothing wrong with practicing with a lighter bow in the off season. However, this goes along the same line as G Fred Asbell wrote about changes and tinkering in TBM last year. I stay with my "go to" hunting bow from 2 months before the season opens.. and change or tinker with nothing, until after the hunting season is over. If I possibly can.

As stated hear many times before. Good Quality practice is much better than Quantity practice.