3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Moving up from 45#...  (Read 339 times)

Offline JoeArizona

• Trad Bowhunter
Moving up from 45#...
« on: November 09, 2012, 10:32:00 AM »
I have been shooting my 45# bow for a few years now...since I got back into trad.
I like it because I can shoot a reasonable number of arrow without getting fatigued too soon.
But now I'm ready to move up some and the question is...how far up?
I don't know if I should move up to 50# or all the way up to 55#.  Would I really gain a lot between 50# and 55#?  
I am looking for help and advice from the group on any similar experiences...both good and bad...when moving to a heavier weight.  
Thanks in advance for your help!
Joe
Joe

Peter's Laws - Rule #7, "If you can't beat them, join them...then beat them!"

Offline JoeArizona

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Moving up from 45#...
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2012, 10:35:00 AM »
Oops!  Just saw William Penn's post.  I will be watching his also.
Thanks,
Joe
Joe

Offline GRINCH

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2012, 10:45:00 AM »
I wouldn't move up more than 5 lbs,work on your form and work up at the same time.
TGMM Family of The Bow,
USN 1973-1995

Offline Kip

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2012, 11:26:00 AM »
In my 20's I started with 45 moved to 50 then 55 and finally 58/60.I stayed with that for a few years and lo and behold my 60's arrived and started to like 50 plus or minus a couple of lbs.so I am almost back to sq. one and really like the wgt. now and the deer are just as dead.Five lb. jumps works better I think.Kip

Offline 30coupe

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2012, 11:50:00 AM »
Originally posted by Kip: