3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: how long at anchor?  (Read 473 times)

Offline rickmasters

• Trad Bowhunter
how long at anchor?
« on: November 19, 2012, 06:39:00 PM »
Hi, I am new to Trad bows. I have hunted with a compound and gun for about 20 years and shot many whitetails with bow and gun. I recently have been wanting to get back to fieldcraft and have always wanted a longbow. I started watching some videos and reading up and now am hooked on traditional hunting. That being said I don't know crap about longbows. I thought it would be simple but it seems very complicated. I bought a few used bows and am trying to get arrows and there is a ton of different info that the arrow guy needed to know with regard to centering of draw string etc. Anyway, sorry for going on in my first post. My question is how long should you be able to hold a longbow at anchor? I am trying to figure out what weight will be good for me to start? Thanks

Offline JohnnyWayne

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: how long at anchor?
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2012, 06:42:00 PM »
Welcome to the gang  :)

Some guys don't hold very long, me I usually hold 2-4 seconds then let go. I am sure others will chime in so welcome again and glad you found us  :)
Life before death. Strength before weakness. Journey before destination.
-The Way of Kings

>>>---TGMM Family of the Bow--->

Offline erictetterton

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2012, 06:43:00 PM »
yea i hold at least 2-4secs. however long it takes me to get steady and focus on my spot. welcome to the gang
Javaman Falcon 45@30
BW KBX 60” 45@30
BW PLX 64” 50@30

Offline Rossco7002

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2012, 06:46:00 PM »