3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Target lane  (Read 160 times)

Offline Kurt301

• Trad Bowhunter
Target lane
« on: November 30, 2012, 01:12:00 AM »
Ok so I am extremely new to archery and decided to go traditional right off the bat I mean why take the long road to awsome right?

Anyway I have already found some great help on this site and need some practice advice.

My primary interest is Target 3D shoots and maybe even some SCA medieval type shoots but I might also take a whack at hunting someday. Still I want to "feel" like I am ready and decent at hitting targets from the ranges that I might be shooting from?

I have a very long drive way with a wooden fence at the back and that is my practice shooting lane.

So to be practical I am wondering

for those of you that hunt.  at what distances do you mark off for your shooting stations?  When you have taken an animal, what would you say the yardage of your average shot on it was?

For target shooters. at what distances do you mark off for your shooting stations? and when at competitions for trad archery what distances do they have you shoot from?

And lastly

At 3D shoots what are the ranges for all the targets? how many targets do they typically have for a competition?

Thanks for your responses I appreciate it.

Offline fujimo

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Target lane
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2012, 03:19:00 AM »
google Rick Welch.
awesome!!- buy his video- good advice in there!!

Offline petalumapete

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2012, 03:25:00 AM »
Best thing I would say is first get a very big target. Put a paper plate on it . Stand back 5 to 10 yards and shoot that plate.