3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Woodie accident  (Read 793 times)

Offline Starkman

• Trad Bowhunter
Woodie accident
« on: August 17, 2007, 10:34:00 PM »
Well, I've been shooting woodies for several months now and just had one break and lodge in my left hand....it hurts.  I must admit, I'm a little "gun" shy now.  I'm really curious how it happened and the probability if it will happen again.  

The rift was in the 12:00 position, but the arrow broke in several areas.  I think the cause may be when I was bareshaft testing them.  I was getting some severe sideways hits on the target and this possibly may have weakened the arrow???  Coincidently, several others out of the same batch had broke upon impact a few days earlier.  

The spine should be okay.  I'm shooting 51#@27", the arrows are spined 60-64# cut to 28.5", with 160 gr. field tips.  I thought this would be a good starting point.

I've got a good investment in wood arrows now and sure hate to go back to carbons.  Any expert advice out there on why/how this happened?
Bob
"You're never beaten until you admit it." - General George S. Patton, Jr

Offline Bowspirit

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Woodie accident
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2007, 10:42:00 PM »
Seems somewhat possible that one of those severe hits may have caused the shaft to crack, probably ever so slightly. Just my 2 cent hypothesis...
“I read somewhere of how important it is in life, not necessarily to be strong, but to feel strong. To measure yourself at least once.”
                -Alexander Supertramp

"Shoot this for me."
                -Chuck Nelson

Offline Killdeer

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2007, 10:49:00 PM »