3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Who has a Duluth pack?  (Read 284 times)

Online Kenny Henderson

• Trad Bowhunter
Who has a Duluth pack?
« on: December 24, 2012, 10:43:00 AM »
Hey guys, I am looking to get a new pack and I don't want a camo pack, I want to buy a good rugged pack and was wondering about the Duluth pack. What do you think? Is it waterproof? Thanks for any input.
"Commit your way to the Lord, Trust also in Him, And He shall bring it to pass" Psalm 37:5

Offline Loy

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Who has a Duluth pack?
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2012, 11:16:00 AM »
Kenny, I have a lot of experience with, and tremendous respect for Duluth Packs. As a wilderness canoe trip outfitter in northern Minnesota we used them exclusively.  However, they were not waterproof.  If we needed to waterfroof the bag we added a heavy 6 mil plastic liner.  We tried several "waterproof" packs, but found them to be heavy, less durable, and overall just didn't have the utility of the Duluth Pack.  The Duluth Pack design has been in use in the North Woods for a very long time and is I believe the best choice if you need to move a lot of heavy/bulky gear.

Offline TBinMN

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2012, 11:37:00 AM »
I've had one since the first year I went to the BWCAW (MN/CA Border) when I was 7 - so about 42 years ago!

If they still make them like they used to (which is how they advertise) they are an extremely durable, canvas pack.  Mine is not waterproof as they were designed to have a waterproof liner placed in them.  I also used a waterproofing spray on mine.

Mine is their #2 Canoe Pack and is basically one compartment with a map pocket - which has a clear face to it so you can see it while paddling.