3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: HH Bighorn Sheep?  (Read 320 times)

Offline ArrowPlane

• Trad Bowhunter
HH Bighorn Sheep?
« on: January 19, 2013, 02:17:00 PM »
I've been semi-obsessed with Hill-style longbows since I started shooting.  I finally had the opportunity a while back to shoot a Big Five, and now I'm looking to order a Hill after I sell a bow to help fund it.  It will be my first custom, and I'm rather excited about it!

There are a lot of choices for various models, but the one that really catches my eye is the Bighorn Sheep, with red elm lams.  However, for the life of me, I can't find a picture of one ANYWHERE.  All these Hill threads I've combed through, and I've never seen a Bighorn Sheep.  I've seen a Ruffed Grouse or two (red elm/bamboo) though.

I know Hills are traditionally bamboo, but you see quite a few yew and osage models floating around.

Does anyone have a Bighorn Sheep?  Know anyone that does?  Have a picture of one?  Do they exist?

Offline frankwright

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: HH Bighorn Sheep?
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2013, 02:29:00 PM »

I hope someone has a good picture of the bow for you to see.

I have never seen one and this is the only picture I could find on the internet.

Offline ArrowPlane

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2013, 03:34:00 PM »
Thanks for looking, but that's not it.  Might be a Ruffed Grouse with two inner bamboo lams and two outer red elm.  The Bighorn Sheep has four lams of red elm, so will be consistent throughout.

Online Irish Archer

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2013, 03:41:00 PM »
I've never found a photo of the Bighorn either, but I'd love to see one!

The photo above looks just like my Half Breed.

Online Irish Archer

• Trad Bowhunter