3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: New to Trad! Need some help..  (Read 351 times)

Offline BauerSB

• Trad Bowhunter
New to Trad! Need some help..
« on: January 22, 2013, 11:50:00 AM »
Hello everyone, I am extremely new to trad archery and am looking for a bow to get started. My issue is that I am 6'5" with a draw of 31.5". I was wondering what everyone thought about this bow below? Would it be long enough limb wise and would I have any stacking problems? I want to use it for hunting of course btw. Let me know what y'all think.

http://tradgang.com/noncgi/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=5;t=056580#000000

I Figure at my draw length it should be around 44#s correct?

The seller also has a long draw around 31.5 like me and claims to pull fine.

If anyone has a bow that ya think would fit me well and thinking about selling let me know.

Thank you guys. Much appreciated.

Scott
66" Fox Triple Crown 48 @ 30
58" Big Jim Thunderchild being built

Offline manitou1

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: New to Trad! Need some help..
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2013, 12:01:00 PM »
You might look at the Samick Journey also.  The 64" model pulls EASILY to my 32.5" draw. $129.00 at Lancaster Archery Supply.
Most bows gain 2-2 1/2 pounds per inch, so a 35 lb. at 28" draw should put you around 43-44 lbs.
Welcome to a great sport!
The two enemies of the people are criminals and government, so let us tie the second down with the chains of the Constitution so the second will not become the legalized version of the first.
--Thomas Jefferson--

Offline maineac

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2013, 05:49:00 PM »