3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Grip similar to Silvertip?  (Read 423 times)

Offline Stinger

• Trad Bowhunter
Grip similar to Silvertip?
« on: January 27, 2013, 02:07:00 PM »
I have a 58" Silvertip with the "A" riser and absolutely love the grip.  My hands are not large and it just fits me, however I really prefer a longer bow.  I believe 62" is probably the best for me as the shorter bows seem to magnify all of my form errors.  I suppose I could learn to shoot better, but I've been working on that for 45 years.  So, what I am looking for is a recurve with a grip similar in feel to the "A" riser Silvertip at 62".  No, Dave doesn't make limbs that will do that, and yes I have tried Tips with the "B" and "C" risers but found those too heavy.  I tried an older Blacktail Elite as I heard those were similar, but I found the front of the riser at the grip to be too angular.  That is, the squared off edges of the grip cut into my fingers when I wrapped them around the grip.  I have not tried a TallTines, but they look like they might have the same issue as the Blacktail.

So, what do those of you that know the Tip "A" riser have to offer as a suggestion for me to try?  I have done the Goldilocks thing and tried a number of different bows at shows over the past couple years, but have not found the one yet.

I had issues with all of these:
Hummingbird Kingfisher - wrist too low      
Stryker  - Grip too skinny
Kota  - Just felt funny
Foley  -  Grip too thick
Holm made
Tortelli
Hill Country
Palmer  - Grip to thick
Fedora   - don't like thumb rest

Offline Danny Rowan

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Grip similar to Silvertip?
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2013, 02:10:00 PM »